Tuners ?

C5 Specific - Technical and Performance

Moderators: DOC, MR.WOLF, australi, smackC4

User avatar
jjl
Gold Class Member #750
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Tuners ?

Postby jjl » Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:02 pm

A C5 is my first introduction to new technology in the car world ( cars that I want to play with that is). What does everyone use for tuning, scanners etc to maintain their cars. I do not like the idea of taking my car to someone every time I feel like playing with it.
I am not after the ultimate in high perfromance from the car, I just want to be able to maintain it, change the things that need changing and find out what is wrong with it when it has problems.
Thanks
Jeremy

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:12 pm

Well first up its probably a manual, so that solves the issue of changing auto transmission shift points and torque converter lockup settings.

2nd up id get onto MAXX WRENCH or Panther and buy a Genuine GM service manual for the car.

It will tell you in the service manual all the diagnostic information youll ever need, and it will tell you every nut and bolt throughout the rest of the car.

You may not ever need a scanner for it, i dont know if you can get them into a diagnostic display mode like you can with the later C4s (you can test a large amount of the car's functions from this, and also read and reset codes from every section, dont know if C5s can do it on their own). That is something that will be spoken about in fullest detail in the service manual.

User avatar
80lg4
Gold Class Member #503
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: whyalla, South Australia

TUNERS

Postby 80lg4 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 9:05 pm

You should be able to do normal services like any other car
cant the local holden dealer look at diagnostics being the engine is an LS1 :?:

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Thu Sep 06, 2007 9:16 pm

He says he doesnt want to take it to the local Holden dealer though (and i certainly dont blame him, why pay someone to do a job you can do yourself), he wants the satisfaction of doing the job himself and knowing its done right. The local Holden dealer wont know their arse from their elbow on a Corvette anyway, and they wont have the service manuals for it to learn about it.

The engine may be an LS1, but that has absolutely nothing whatso ever to do with diagnostics, the computer running the show is not the same as the unit in a Holden, and that is where the difference will come into it.

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: TUNERS

Postby australi » Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:26 am

80lg4 wrote:cant the local holden dealer look at diagnostics being the engine is an LS1 :?:


Different animal altogether.
There is NOTHING Holden about Corvettes.

User avatar
MAXX WRENCH
*Gold Class Member #200
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: COLORADO..USA

Postby MAXX WRENCH » Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:14 pm

JEREMY....LIKE CASE SAID...A GENUINE SET OF GM MANUALS IS THE FIRST & FOREMOST THING YA NEED TO GET YER HANDS ON....THEN AS FAR AS A SCANNER GOES THERE ARE SEVERAL ONES OUT THERE YA CAN USE...IF YOU WANT TO TWEEK SOME SETTINGS & SUCH BUY A DIABLO...LIKE CASE SAID THERE AREN'T MANY THINGS THAT U CAN DO WITH IT BEING A MANUAL....HOWEVER THERE ARE LOTS OF GOOD SIZE HP BOLT ONS YA CAN GET...IF YA WANT SOMETHING TO DIAGNOSE & TEST THINGS & SUCH THEN I WOULD JUST BUY A SCANNER LIKE A SNAP ON 2500 SCANNER...THAT WOULD GIVE YA LOTS OF INFO & OPTIONS....IF YA NEED HELP IN GETTING THIS STUFF JUST LET ME KNOW...WHEN ANY OF OUR MEMBERS NEED PARTS OR WHATEVER I SELL THEM WHATEVER THEY NEED AT MY COST...I DO NOT MARK ANY OF IT UP...YOUR IMPORT TAXES ON THE STUFF WILL ALSO BE LOWER...JUST TALK TO WINNIE OR AUS...THEY WILL TELL YA...ANYWAY IF YA NEED HELP OR WHATEVER JUST LET ME KNOW.... :D :D
ONE SHOT ONE KILL I WIN

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Postby australi » Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:10 pm

MAXX WRENCH wrote:...JUST TALK TO WINNIE OR AUS...THEY WILL TELL YA...


ABSOLUTELY! :o

User avatar
Panther
*Gold Class Member #460
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:07 pm
Location: Marayong, Sydney, Australia

Postby Panther » Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:05 am

I use a Diablo, and agree with Max

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Postby australi » Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:49 am

Panther wrote:I use a Diablo, and agree with Max


I use Nescafe but still agree with Max! :)

User avatar
MAXX WRENCH
*Gold Class Member #200
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: COLORADO..USA

Postby MAXX WRENCH » Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:50 pm

DAMMIT.....I KNEW U WERE A LIBERAL AUS....YUP DIABLO IS THE BEST FOR A C5 6SPD ANYWAY :o
ONE SHOT ONE KILL I WIN

User avatar
jjl
Gold Class Member #750
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Postby jjl » Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:29 pm

Is there anything the Diablo will not do and what are the bad things about it compared to EFILive and HPTuners. I know sfa about these things and need to learn quickly without making expensive mistakes.
Jeremy

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:45 pm

Between Panther and MAXX WRENCH youll have anything C5 covered as good as it gets, they are our C5 blokes here.

User avatar
MAXX WRENCH
*Gold Class Member #200
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: COLORADO..USA

Postby MAXX WRENCH » Sun Sep 09, 2007 1:00 pm

ILL HAVE TO LET PANTHER TELL YA ABOUT EFI & HP...I GOT NO EXPERIENCE WITH EITHER OF THEM...SORRY JEREMY
ONE SHOT ONE KILL I WIN

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:44 pm

There is nothing to it really. You know about pulling them apart though.

C5Z
General Forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Postby C5Z » Tue Apr 08, 2008 5:51 am

MAXX WRENCH wrote:ILL HAVE TO LET PANTHER TELL YA ABOUT EFI & HP...I GOT NO EXPERIENCE WITH EITHER OF THEM...SORRY JEREMY


I have used HPTuners on my previous car. (An Australian car with an LS1 motor in it, mentioned above... Nothing like a 'vette.) EFILive is similar. Both excellent products. I believe diablo is a 5 minute, plug and play job, but haven't had any direct experience with it.

Stock from the factory 300hp. Post tuning and a few bolt ons (intake & exhaust mainly) 400+hp. Took me about 18 months - 2 years to learn the ropes. Definetly not a 5 minute job. You are able to change literally thousands of variables.

You won't get that sort of gains on a C5, as GM tune alot closer to the line than Holden. You may get an LS1 motor to an LS6 output (from 350HP to 405HP), but the LS6's have different hardware to let them rev higher, and I would need to check the cam specs between the two.

My C5 Z06 is on a "boat" from LA, and I am getting a licence update for my HPTuners. So, once I get the car out of Performax I'll let you know how I get on...

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Tue Apr 08, 2008 5:45 pm

No way in the world will you get a stock LS1 to 405 horses with just a tune, no matter how well you lube yourself up. Its going to take quite alot more than that. Maybe adding 1.8:1 roller rockers and a better exhaust will do it though.

Holden IS a GM vehicle, they both tune the cars to a safe efficient level.

The people that test and tune these engines for each new model are not idiots, they know what they are doing, and they do a pretty bloody good job of getting them just right for their intended use.

If the Diablo programmer is anything like a Hypertech programmer, its a total waste of money in terms of what it can do compared to the programs you mensioned, and as you know yourself, they are alot more effective and alot easier to get what you want done in half the time. You just have to know what everything means and what it does.

There are a couple people on this forum that think these computer controlled EFI cars like these actually tune themselves, which as we both know C5Z, is total and utter bullsh*t.

Anytime youre passing by this way on the way to or from Performax drop in for a beer mate. Im about 45 minutes south of Gympie. :D

User avatar
nifty
*Gold Class Member #427
Posts: 7471
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 12:01 am
Location: whyalla, South Australia

Postby nifty » Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:16 pm

Winfield RED wrote:Holden IS a GM vehicle, they both tune the cars to a safe efficient level.

The people that test and tune these engines for each new model are not idiots, they know what they are doing, and they do a pretty bloody good job of getting them just right for their intended use.
. :D

vette engine candadian, holden mexico engine..
the good thing about the ls1 2 and even now 3 is that the power is IN there....just needs to be brought out.
got the bucks? slap a blower on it....mate here with a supercharged 6lt making 613kw at flywheel and 518 at back wheels....AND ive seen the vidoe of it do it.....

silver383
*Gold Class Member #383
Posts: 1822
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Au

Postby silver383 » Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:39 pm

yep i agree with Winnie Red again[holden is a gm] but why do so many people who luv vettes hate GMH these days ,to me it's like luv'n mustangs but hating GT'S, NO BRAINER :evil:

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:17 pm

But GTHOs are a better car Davo!! ;) :-x I dont hate Holdens, i just dont thing they are good value for money against Australian Fords.

silver383
*Gold Class Member #383
Posts: 1822
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Au

Postby silver383 » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:22 pm

:shock: why are you not driving a mustang

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Postby australi » Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:09 am

Winfield RED wrote:...I dont hate Holdens, i just dont thing they are good value for money against Australian Fords.


HERE HERE! :o
('cept I DO hate Holdens!)
:)

silver383
*Gold Class Member #383
Posts: 1822
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Au

Postby silver383 » Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:31 am

thats because ford has to drop their prices all the time to sell a car,McGrath in Canberra at one stage where selling them for cost,top looking car them AU coons PV( PV(
pull a door or gaurd of a new falcon and see whats under the mounts,BARE METAL :shock:

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Wed Apr 09, 2008 5:30 pm

Youre missing my point!! I said GTHOs are better than rustangs!! GTHOs are out of my price range.

Its an image thing mate, more Australian yobbos like a Commodore than a Falcon, no idea why, i think they have the brains of a turd. Neither of them is a well built vehicle, although both are better than any regular American made offering of the same car class, Falcons typically go the distance better than Commodores, which is apparently why they are a better choice for Taxis in QLD.

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Postby australi » Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:41 pm

nifty wrote:vette engine candadian, holden mexico engine...


:?:

Are you talking currently or historically? :shock:

...Some are some aren't;
http://www.mortec.com/castnum.htm

Some were made in Mexico also.

Some were made in USA as well weren't they?
Places like Michigan & Detroit…

silver383
*Gold Class Member #383
Posts: 1822
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Au

Postby silver383 » Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:08 pm

Winfield RED wrote:Youre missing my point!! I said GTHOs are better than rustangs!! GTHOs are out of my price range.

only stirring mate I a had a gtho and sold it to buy my vette :evil:

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:34 pm

silver383 wrote:
Winfield RED wrote:Youre missing my point!! I said GTHOs are better than rustangs!! GTHOs are out of my price range.

only stirring mate I a had a gtho and sold it to buy my vette :evil:

I know youve had the Corvette a long time, and back then it wouldve seemed like a good move, but i bet my left testical youre kicking yourself now!! :-x

Youve got good taste in cars as well as beer mate :D

User avatar
Panther
*Gold Class Member #460
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:07 pm
Location: Marayong, Sydney, Australia

Postby Panther » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:45 pm

LSi edit is the better of the 2, but, and there always is, you have to figure out how to use it, the diablo preditor down loads the factory tune and uploads a sports tune but you can still make mods as you figure it out, it will make a difference, has done so to mine, and its about US$300 not sure on the cost of LSI
The only way you will get a realy good tune is after all mods on a dyno when they can see how its performing and make slight adjustments as required, only problem is here it is expensive, not unusual to pay $1000 or more

User avatar
Winfield RED
*Gold Class Member #350
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Just north of Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Postby Winfield RED » Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:43 pm

I use Tunercat, but i dont know if there is a CATS program for the LS engined Corvettes.

Tunercat is substantially better than LT1edit, costs way less, and you can use it on as many different cars as you like, where as LT1edit is VIN locked (which is really stupid considering there is a much better program costing about 1/5th the price and can be used hundreds of different cars)

Never seen LS edit.

In order to accurately tune a car yourself, you need some sort of logging ability so you can see what its doing and what changes it needs.

User avatar
australi
* Founding Administrator
Posts: 16516
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Postby australi » Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:23 am

silver383 wrote: I a had a gtho and sold it to buy my vette :evil:


Phase III ?

C5Z
General Forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Postby C5Z » Thu May 29, 2008 7:16 am

Winfield RED wrote:No way in the world will you get a stock LS1 to 405 horses with just a tune, no matter how well you lube yourself up. Its going to take quite alot more than that. Maybe adding 1.8:1 roller rockers and a better exhaust will do it though. :D


You are right Winnie RED. I didn't realise the C5 LS1's had such a crappy cam in them. (Refer below) I agree, as a minimum you would need a set of 1.8:1 roller rockers (takes valve lift to about 0.5 inche) + air intake + exhaust (definetly High Flow Stainless Cats). That might get you to about 390HP. (I got my commodore to about 390-400 and it has about the same lift and duration.) Good news for me with my Z06 cam... :-w

Year----------PN-----------Duration @ 0.050"-----V-Lift (inch I/E)--------LSA

CORVETTE
LS1

'01-'03.........12561721.............196/207...................0.467/0.479...............116.0*

LS6

'01(385hp)...12560950.............204/211...................0.525/0.525................116.0****
'02-'04........12565308.............204/218...................0.551/0.547................117.5

Commodore

'99-'04........12560965.............198/209...................0.500/0.500................119.5**


Return to “Fifth Generation C5 (1997-2004) Technical and Performance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest